Skip to content

Guest Blogger: Mike Mazon

December 8, 2009

Have you ever found yourself saying…

“I do not share my faith because I might do something wrong in front of them, and they might think I am a hypocrite”

“I don’t share my faith because I do not know where to begin? Or I might say something wrong and lead them on a wrong path?”

“I don’t share my faith, because people might judge me, or think I am just another “up in your face” Christian shouting on the street corner”

These are just a few of our excuses we come up with to trick ourselves…But it so clearly states otherwise in this passage…

“Let me tell you why you are here. You’re here to be light…God is not a secret to be kept. We’re Going public with this, as public with this as a city on the hill. If I make you light-bearers, you don’t think I am going to hide you under a bucket do you? Im putting you on a light stand. Now that I’ve put you there on the hilltop, on a light stand- SHINE! Keep open house; be genereous your lives. By opening up to others, you’ll prompt people to open up with God, this generous father in heaven. ” Matt. 5:13-16 (The Message)

God calls us to live as salt in light in this world. To SHINE! Are we living in a way that demands an explanation for our actions and our words.

We are not…

called to be a stinging salt, and a glaring light, you know these…

1.      In your face Christians-“REPENT NOW! OR YOU ARE ALL GOING HELL!”

2.      Holier than Thou Christians-People who just come off like they are better and know more.

3.      Cosmetic Christians-People who look like good “christians” and yet inside are not right in the sight of God.

BUT WE ARE …

called to be a savory salt and an illuminating light:

1.      A Costly christianity-Living out our faith, even when it costs.

2.      A Compassionate christianity- Showing God’s love with our actions.

“Let your light shine before men that they may see your good deeds and praise your father in heaven” Matt. 5:16

Not

3.      A Consistent christianity- “Are you authentic? Are you real?”

Let us be a Savory Salt and an Illuminating Light to all we come in contact with, may we be reminded its only by God’s sovereign grace that God allows hearts to become ready for Him. We are simply his servants that should be prepared and willing to be used by Him. God has called you to have an impact on people, let us be available and living in a way that demands an explanation to the people in our lives. SHINE ON!

About the Author
Mike Mazon is a part of the City Church leadership team in downtown San Jose.  Mike plans to attend bible college in the area next fall.
One Comment leave one →
  1. dennarr permalink
    December 9, 2009 8:26 am

    Mike! Thanks for the post…I like it: savory vs. stinging [I can see the t-shirts: Savory for Christ! OK, maybe not…].

    I love words and was looking at the definition of SAVORY. As a noun, it’s: “an aromatic, often spicy course or dish served either as an appetizer or as a dessert.” Check it out (& stick with me here):

    – By living a SAVORY life for Christ in all areas of our lives (as you write above), we create an appetite for Him in those we encounter, love, and serve.
    – In the body of Christ (living genuine and Christ-like lives), we are the sweetness of Christ (the tangible dessert after the main course of salvation) to those who call Him Savior and Lord as we encounter, love, and serve.

    OK – I’ll stop…I’m hungry now…

    Hey, one passage got me last week during one of my quiet times regarding loving people as Christ did/does. From Isaiah 58:

    9 “If you do away with the yoke of oppression, with the pointing finger and malicious talk,

    10 and if you spend yourselves in behalf of the hungry [or the “hard-to-love”] and satisfy the needs of the oppressed [love like Jesus loved], then your light will rise in the darkness, and your night will become like the noonday.

    Blessings!

    PS: “bible college next fall”…virtual fist bump!

Leave a Reply

