Skip to content

PreMarriage Passion Stealers

March 26, 2010

Yesterday, while working out at my new gym, it hit me…I am getting married.  I’m getting married in 14 days.  Exactly one year ago I was wrestling with the return of Christ.  I was wondering if he was going to hold off his return until I got married.  I have come to find that I am not the only overzealous theologian to wonder such a thing.  Nevertheless should the Lord terry for two more weeks, my eschatological nightmare will have been averted.

In the eight months of engagement I have been learning a great deal.  To be sure we have gotten to know each other so much better in the months approaching our wedding (insert your empathetic snickers).  Additionally we have been reading, listening, and finding so much information and advice for marriage.  Whether through our questions, experiences, or unsolicited advice we have truly been in an unofficial premartial class for eight months.  Though this education has be invaluable, certain people have not been.  People I like to call the Passion Stealers.

Passion Stealers are the purveyors of the reality clause.  Whenever a comment of affection, excitement, or joy in the coming marriage leaked from my lips, the Passion Stealers have been quick to insert their dry perspective.  Passion Stealers highlight their mundane experience and inject it into your future without your permission.  Passion Stealers see hope as an ignorant facade and today’s anticipation as tomorrow’s disappointment.  Passion Stealers suck the life out of a room with their reality, acting as if marriage was never intended for joy but simply for your grinding sanctification.  According to the Passion Stealers, marriage is fun for a year, exciting for a time, and romantic for a moment.  But once the champagne is gone and the wedding pictures come down off the walls, marriage is sparkless.

Call it naive, call it idealist (I’ll call it biblical) but this soon-to-be-married-man refuses to accept the long haul of marriage to be one without spark.  As I see it, romance is wrapped up in the nature of God and surprise and excitement are the very heartbeats of grace.  To fail in the romance and spark of marriage is to misunderstand that nature of our Lord and his love for us.  May marriage be reclaimed as the mysteriously beautiful adventure it was meant to be.  Death to the Passion Stealers!

Laura, I can’t wait to not have enough money with you.  I can’t wait to say the wrong thing to your mother.  I can’t wait to get frustrated with our kids. I can’t wait to struggle through life changing decisions.  I can’t wait to leave the toilet seat up everyday.  I can’t wait to wonder if we are on the same page.  I can’t wait to misunderstand you and take time to reunderstand you.  I can’t wait to grow old, senile, and angry at all those kids and their rock music with you.

I can not wait to marry you.  Death to the Passion Stealers!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2010 7:10 pm

    Awesome post, bro. I agree…away, all you Passion Stealers!!!! After 26 years of being married to my love of my life I couldn’t agree with you more and couldn’t think of anything better. It is part of God’s design. I am so excited for you, Jason. You guys are going to be great together. Wish I could be a witness at your wedding in a couple of weeks…I know it will be great. May you not only have more passion for Laura as the days, weeks, months, and years pass but increased passion for the Most High God.

    Passionately in love with my wife, my daughters and my God…have an awesome day.

    PS: Love that picture of you and Laura J

  2. John Watson permalink
    March 27, 2010 12:37 am

    Amen my friend! Although I can’t be witness to your nuptials, I no doubt will be witness to the love that you have for one another, through Christ, for many years to come.

  3. March 30, 2010 1:27 pm

    attaboy!!! Marriage only gets boring when you let it. Don’t blame your ministry for your marriage, don’t blame parents or in-laws for your marriage, don’t blame work for your marriage. You have every right and a deep calling to pursue each other passionately because Christ pursues us even more passionately. Congrats on the wedding and can’t wait to meet the new wife!

    Joel

  4. Cassie permalink
    March 31, 2010 12:08 pm

    Thank you for writing a blog post on this! Ha ha, those Passion Stealers are everywhere, and I wanted to punch them all in the face when they would give me the “Oh, that’ll pass” business. Unfortunately, Jesus would not have punched them in the face, but I believe he WOULD have given a harsh little homily against them. Well done.
    PS Marriage ROCKS!

Leave a Reply

