Skip to content

Of This I Testify

April 1, 2010

That this is less my story, but God’s story in my life.


I was born into an amazing, loving, nurturing Christian family. That didn’t make me a Christian, but it got me off to great start. This is the first evidence of God’s grace in my life.

In the summer of 1987, I don’t remember the catalyst, but I got it in my head that I needed to know what it meant to be ‘saved.’ We were staying with my grandparents for the summer, so when my grandfather returned from work, I posed the question to him. He sat me down on the front step of their house and explained God’s grace. He told me about sin and it’s deserved punishment – an eternity separated from God. We talked about what it meant that Jesus came to earth to die on the cross, and rise again. That God has the power over life and death, and that he offers those who accept it the free gift of salvation.

“but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”

“And this is the testimony, that God gave us eternal life, and this life is in his Son. Whoever has the Son has life; whoever does not have the Son of God does not have life. I write these things to you who believe in the name of the Son of God that you may know that you have eternal life.”
While that was not a new story for me, I gained a new understanding. That night I prayed to invite and accept Christ into my heart and life. I was baptized the following summer, by my grandfather.

In the subsequent years I have lived a full and wonderful life. There have been times of sin and falling away, and times of repentance and returning to God’s path. At no time did anything I do, or didn’t do, separate me from God’s love and protection.

For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

God brought me to California in the winter of 2000. I found a great church home, and have been involved in service there for several years. I am challenged daily to seek after God’s will. I see evidence of His grace and mercy in my life, and the lives of those around me. Every day I turn my eyes upon Jesus, look full in His wonderful face, and am amazed by His glory and grace.

Of all these things I humbly testify.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

