Skip to content

Are we there yet?

May 13, 2010

Jason mentioned something about no one posting on the blog last week. It’s something I thought about. As much as I wanted to post something last week, I didn’t. The last couple weeks have been exhausting. It’s amazing how sometimes exhausting yourself physically can be emotionally and mentally refreshing, but being mentally or emotionally exhausting can take a toll on you physically. I have been presented with new challenges at home, work, and in ministry. It came to a head Tuesday as I was preparing my lesson for our Wednesday night college and career group meeting. I reached out to a few friends for prayer. One offered to fill in for me on Wednesday. As tempting as it was, I needed to use it as a stretching and learning time for me. I have been reminded several times in the last few days of one of my favorite verses.

2 Corinthians 12:9

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

I read that and I have to stop and pray. I know three things. I need a little perspective. As tough as things are, things are tougher for a lot of people. As big as I think the mountain that I am climbing is, my God is bigger. I also know that He won’t give me anything I can’t handle with His help.

I stopped, prayed, and dug in. Studying God’s word and focusing on one thing at a time helped me to dig out of the ditch that I was in. As exhausted as I feel today, I know that God is in control. He is giving me rest tonight so that I can be at full strength tomorrow. At full strength because He is my strength. When I am weak or exhausted, He lifts me up.

Thank you God for being bigger than the challenges that I face.

On a very bright side note…

Congrats to my sister and brother-in-law on the birth of their daughter, Adele Autumn Weinecke.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

