Skip to content

There, but for the grace of God, go I

June 3, 2010

Why is it that we can always think of something that is difficult for us, or bad things that we have to deal with, but the list of times that of the grace of God has been evident in our lives is often much shorter.

In a room with about 20 Christians in it last night I asked for examples of tough things, bad things, or stressful things that people were dealing with. Right away we came up with eight to ten examples. A few minutes later I asked for examples of the grace of God in our lives. I got one response. As we read through verses talking about the Grace of God, and I gave the example of Salvation, and I read stories with examples of grace and mercy, I asked twice more. No one answered.

I am far to lax in thanking God for his grace.

God, Thanks for the air I breathe, the food I eat, the clothes I wear, the car I drive, the job I drive the car to, the work I do there, the pay I get for the work, and the things that allows me to do. Thank you for my family, friends, lessons learned, love, Salvation, and the promise of Heaven. I deserve nothing, and, by your grace, you have given me so much. Help me to remember in times of trial and stress that there are so many living with so much less, and dealing with so much more. There, but for your grace, go I.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

