Skip to content

Questions from the Pulpit.

June 21, 2010

This one is simple.  I always wonder if they get it.  Every Sunday I look out to the congregation, after a week of focused study, much prayer, days of gospel agony, and I hope to the Lord that those who are listening, understanding me.  Are the blank stares indicative of their hearts?   Do they hear me?

One of my professors used to say that there is a fog between the pew and the pulpit.  I know this to be true.  Undoubtedly a part of my responsibility is to clear this palpable buffer.  Therefore every Sunday I wonder if it is happening.  Is it clear? Do you hear me?  Do you hear God? Do you sense the Spirit moving? Am I contextualizing this truth appropriately?  Is this getting in your kitchen? Are you getting it?

Unfortunately the answer is not as simple as the question.  I can’t just walk up to someone after a sermon and ask if they heard me.  The answer only come as I walk with them and witness worship and transformation.  Perhaps this is way pastors are called to shepherd and preach.  Each feeds the other.  And each proves the need for the other.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Erik Burklin permalink
    June 21, 2010 6:48 pm

    Jason,
    Great post…man, I know what you mean. I preached last night at our church and felt the same way…wondering if they were hearing me. Yet, after the service, I sensed that the HS had spoken through me. He is the One who wants us to join Him in His mission….and invites to stay faithful. What a privilege…what an honor.
    Love you bro…keep up your good work and remember it is His work 🙂
    For Him and His glory,
    Erik

Leave a Reply

